Blood Upon the Sands (An Evan Davis Tale Book 2)

April 29, 2019

Blood Upon The Sands

 

Against the bloody backdrop of a country simmering with racial tension, friendships are tested, beliefs are tried, and the prejudices of years are challenged …Unaware of the inner turmoil of Kuwait, Evan Davis enters as an employee of Al Hakim, a benevolent Kuwaiti horse-breeder, hired to change the country’s perception on the world’s stage.

But all is not what it seems – when documents detailing the atrocities done to the Bedoon are thrust into Evan’s hands anonymously, he is forced to act. But wherever he turns mysteries and secrets abound.An unknown third party has hired an ex-KGB assassin and former Siberian Rime agent, Maksim Bondreovich, to sow discontent within the population, splitting its racial groups, casting a red haze of terrible bloodshed with a final, lethal objective – the expulsion of an entire class of people.

Can Evan open his employer’s eyes to the racial tensions which are boiling over in his own beloved country? Will the assassin succeed in his heinous objective? Moreover, will those behind it all stay hidden or will they be brought to justice? It all comes to a breath-taking head in a climactic and tension-fraught assault on the Hotel Sultana. Will Maksim’s succeed in his heinous plot and paint the Kuat Zurqa’, the Hotel’s fifteen story wall of blue glass, red with blood or will the truth be revealed in time?

A suspenseful thriller that will keep you nailed to the edge of your seats, Sheldon Charles weaves a masterful tale centered in real-world history and based on the current situation of Kuwait’s Bedoon population.

 

REVIEW

Five stars

 

An accomplished thriller that’s full of pace, intrigue, and suspense.

Reviewed By Piaras O Cionnaoith for Emerald Book Reviews

Blood Upon the Sands by Sheldon Charles is a wonderfully written and richly descriptive novel with brilliantly drawn characters. The author weaves a well-crafted political thriller with intriguing twists and turns that will captivate the reader from the first page to the last. Skillfully constructed and set ‘against the bloody backdrop of a country simmering with racial tension’, this book will have you on the edge of your seat!

This suspense thriller takes recent real-world history to develop a plot filled with mystery and intrigue. The novel delivers all the excitement of a great thriller while also delving into provocative themes. It’s a masterful tale centered around the current situation of Kuwait’s Bedoon population.

The book description gives a sneak preview; ‘Against the bloody backdrop of a country simmering with racial tension, friendships are tested, beliefs are tried, and the prejudices of years are challenged …Unaware of the inner turmoil of Kuwait, Evan Davis enters as an employee of Al Hakim, a benevolent Kuwaiti horse-breeder, hired to change the country’s perception on the world’s stage. But all is not what it seems – when documents detailing the atrocities done to the Bedoon are thrust into Evan’s hands anonymously, he is forced to act. But wherever he turns mysteries and secrets abound. An unknown third party has hired an ex-KGB assassin and former Siberian Rime agent, Maksim Bondreovich, to sow discontent within the population, splitting its racial groups, casting a red haze of terrible bloodshed with a final, lethal objective – the expulsion of an entire class of people.

Can Evan open his employer’s eyes to the racial tensions which are boiling over in his own beloved country? Will the assassin succeed in his heinous objective? Moreover, will those behind it all stay hidden or will they be brought to justice? It all comes to a breath-taking head in a climactic and tension-fraught assault on the Hotel Sultana. Will Maksim’s succeed in his heinous plot and paint the Kuat Zurqa’, the Hotel’s fifteen story wall of blue glass, red with blood or will the truth be revealed in time?’…

Well, if you want to find out what happens, you’ll just have to turn the pages for yourself! However, I will say it was a fantastic read. This is the third book I’ve read in the Evan Davis Tales and I must say I was very impressed yet again.

I enjoyed the story, character development, and dialogue. There were plenty of plot twists that I didn’t see coming and that added to the book’s mystique. When I stopped reading to work, I found myself wondering what happened in the book, and replaying parts of the novel in my head to see if I could figure more out. It has been a while since I enjoyed a book this much. It’s a well-written thriller with perfect pacing. Not much is as it appears here, which is just the way fans of the Mystery, Thriller, and Suspense will want it.

This was a fascinating and captivating read that had me immersed from the beginning. The story flowed from scene to scene with ease, and the author shows exceptional ability when it comes to storytelling. There are plenty of attention-grabbing moments in this page-turner that will take the reader on a gripping journey.

Blood Upon the Sands had every element a good story should have. An intriguing plot, attention to detail, but best of all fleshed out, well-written and well-rounded character development. There’s an abundance of well-illustrated scenes that make you feel like you are right there in the story, and that’s something I really look for in a good book. It’s one of those stories that come along once in a while that makes you want to read it non-stop until you get to the end. I’m giving nothing further away here. And this, I hope, will only add to the mystery and enjoyment for the reader!

There’s no doubt that Blood Upon the Sands is an exceptionally well-written book. However, it must be said that this story is not for the faint-hearted or easily offended. The author’s script at times is razor-sharp and will cut deep into the emotions of its reader. There are scenes of a sexual nature with extreme violence. Nevertheless, the themes and outcome are just as affecting in the arresting contemporary landscape of Middle Eastern affairs.

As I said earlier, this is my third time reading this author and I can honestly say he delivers every time. I’ll be looking forward to reading more from him in the future. Highly recommended and a well-deserved five stars from me.

Finally, it’s well worth checking out the other books in this series: FROM WITHIN THE FIREBIRD’S NEST and THREE PAPERCLIPS & A GREY SCARF. Great writing and great storytelling. Fans of Espionage and Political Thrillers will not be disappointed.

Amazon logo

Amazon UK logo

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Author Sheldon CharlesSheldon Charles is a decorated Air Force veteran, whose career has taken him around the globe, and given his writing a unique international flair. He is the author of “Three Paperclips & a Grey Scarf”, “Blood Upon the Sands” and “From Within the Firebird’s Nest”. His last book (“From Within the Firebird’s Nest”, the third book in the Evan Davis Trilogy) held the Number One Bestseller spot for Russian Historical Fiction, and was in the Top Ten for War Fiction, for 2018. Sheldon currently resides in Michigan, where he is a member of Michigan Writers.

From the Author:

At about age eight, I went to my first sleep away camp at Lake Arrowhead, California. I could say many things about the camp; just like anyone else who has ever gone to camp, it is impossible to escape without more than a few One time at camp stories.

Every night of the week, there was a huge bonfire down by the lake right at sunset. It seemed as if there were thousands of us gathered there, but in reality, it was probably only 2-300 boys gathered around in a semi-circle being led in cheers, songs and watching skits. All of this was new to me, and camp was a big bag full of new stuff of which to be a part. At the end of the evening came an act that changed my life.

The character’s name escapes me now, but he walked out slowly from the darkness, using a cane, and wearing a jungle explorer jacket with a pith helmet. A long beard and wire-rimmed glasses finished his look. Everyone fell silent as he walked to the center of the fire ring and slowly sat down on a small stool a few feet in front of the fire. The intensity of the moment increased as he took off his glasses and cleaned them using a handkerchief he had taken out of one of his many pockets. The only sound to be heard was the crackling of the fire that roared behind him.

Even among us first timers, there was a sense of expectation as he cleared his throat and began to speak. He told us a story. The story was a combination of local legend, tall tale, and humor; all told using various voices and sound effects he provided. As he spoke, he used facial expressions and hand gestures to emphasize points. The assembled crowd was no longer silent as we laughed, cheered, and shouted comments while he kept us enthralled. The teller of tales would eventually stand and walk from side to side as the story came to the climax; his gestures becoming more wild and inspiring excitement.

When he finished the story, he would slowly drop his hands to his side and lower his head – as the absolute silence returned. As if on cue, we all exploded in loud cheering and applause. Over the course of my life, I have come to realize that what I witnessed was a master storyteller sharing his craft. I went back to my cabin every night of camp inspired and knowing the career path I wanted for my life. I wanted to be a storyteller too.

As an avid reader, I found myself drawn into writing. My first public display of my talents was in 2009 when I climbed back on a motorcycle after a thirty-year hiatus. While riding, I found myself flooded with thoughts, words, and visions of tales I should tell. So, I did. I started a blog to record those events. I found myself writing about people, adventures, and observations. It was not long before I expanded into fictional tales written. The blog evolved into a weekly, when I was assigned to Kuwait, then writing about my experiences living in the Middle East… Humorous and poignant.

It was there, during a meeting, I expressed a small bit of regret that I had yet to become the storyteller I envisioned only to have LtCol Dan Ellis, point out that I had become the storyteller – using the written word. Sometimes it takes someone outside of you to point out a truth you are too close to see. I am grateful Dan did, as it caused me to write and publish my first novella and to begin writing tales in earnest.

Someday, I may get a chance to be a purest, experiencing that feeling of walking out before a crowd in front of a roaring fire, wearing an appropriate costume with the right props ready to tell tall tales. However, for now, I find great joy in telling stories through the written word and sharing them with readers. I hope you enjoy them.

Sheldon

www.valkyriespirit.com
www.facebook.com/TheRealSheldonCharles/

No Comments

Comments are closed.